A Chronology of the Armenian Genocide

(Prepared by Haigazn K. Kazarian)

Editor's Note

This chronology of the Armenian Genocide is based on a manuscript in the Haigazn K. Kazarian Collection of the Armenian National Institute. While the text of the chronology has been extensively edited and updated, this publication remains true to the sequence of events and information as reconstructed by Kazarian. As such it represents another valuable contribution by this early pioneer in the study and documentation of the Armenian Genocide.

--Rouben Paul Adalian

Search the Chronology:   



Terminology used in the chronology

Member of the Committee of Union and Progress (CUP) or Ittihad ve Terakki Jemiyeti, the political party in power in the Ottoman Empire during W.W.I. Also known as the Young Turks.
Member of armed irregular forces employed by the Ottoman government in carrying out policies against Armenians.
Special Organization, or Teshkilati Mahsusa:
The secret outfit manned by convicts and chete forces assigned the task of slaughtering the Armenians.
Holy War against non-Muslims sanctioned by the religious authority of an Islamic country.

Principal Ittihadists responsible for the Armenian Genocide mentioned in the chronology

Current names of cities mentioned in the chronology

Dates in the chronology
All dates in the chronology are given according to the Western calendar. This calendar came into use in Turkey only after November 1918. Up to that time the Ottoman calendar ran 13 days behind the Western calendar.