The Scottish Parliament, Pàrlamaid na h-Alba

June 18, 2013

Motion S4M-06266: Marco Biagi, Edinburgh Central, Scottish National Party, Date Lodged: 18/04/2013

Remembering the Armenian Genocide

That the Parliament notes that 24 April is the anniversary of the government of the Ottoman Empire arresting Armenian intellectuals in 1915, which is generally considered to be the beginning of the forced relocations and expulsions that led to the deaths of hundreds of thousands of Armenians in a systematic genocide over the course of eight years; believes that the Armenian tragedy gives the people of every nation reason to pause and reflect; commemorates all those who have fallen victim to genocide or attempted genocide, and recognises this and all other genocides as tragedies that should never be repeated in any part of the world.

Supported by: Annabelle Ewing, Chic Brodie, Kevin Stewart, John Mason, Adam Ingram, Joan McAlpine, Kenneth Gibson, Roderick Campbell, Bill Kidd, Helen Eadie, Gil Paterson, Mike MacKenzie, David Torrance, Rob Gibson, Liam McArthur, Richard Lyle, Jean Urquhart, John Finnie, Bob Doris, Bill Walker, Sandra White, Maureen Watt, Clare Adamson, Jamie Hepburn, Patricia Ferguson, Alison Johnstone, Sarah Boyack, Aileen McLeod, Stuart McMillan, Linda Fabiani, Willie Coffey, Drew Smith, Dave Thompson, Neil Findlay, Dennis Robertson, Hugh Henry, Elaine Smith, Willie Rennie, Stewart Maxwell, Stewart Stevenson, Alison McInnes, Murdo Fraser, Angus MacDonald, Margaret McDougall, Ruth Davidson, Margaret McCulloch, Jamie McGrigor, Malcolm Chisholm, Jackie Baillie, Jenny Marra, Anne McTaggart, David Stewart, Jayne Baxter, Alex Fergusson, James Dornan, Jim Eadie, Mary Fee, Liz Smith, Michael McMahon, Jim Hume, Christina McKelvie, John Lamont, Mary Scanlon, Jackson Carlaw

Current Status: Fallen on 18/06/2013