Louisiana House Resolution

May 18, 2015

View PDF of document

2015 Regular Session



SPECIAL DAY/WEEK/MONTH: Commemorates the centennial anniversary of the Armenian genocide

To commemorate the centennial anniversary of the Armenian genocide of 1915.

WHEREAS, a special committee was formed in Constantinople in March 1919 by a group of Ottoman Armenians who survived the Armenian genocide with the goal of organizing commemoration ceremonies dedicated to marking the anniversary of the Armenian genocide; and

WHEREAS, the committee, known as "The April 11th Board of Ceremonial Mourning", consisted of thirteen members including Yevphime Avetisian, Zaruhi Galamkarian, Mari Stambulian, Perchuhi Parsamian, Miss Arpiar, Tigran Zaven, Merujan Parsamyan, Hakob Siruni, Gevorg Mesrop, Tagvor Suqiasian, Dr. Barsegh Tinanian, Shahan Perperian, and Hovhannes Poghosian; and

WHEREAS, because of the committee's efforts, the memory of the victims of Armenian genocide was commemorated among the Armenians of Constantinople for the first time in 1919; and

WHEREAS, Armenian writer and publicist Hakob Siruni wrote in his memoirs: "The mourning ceremony became a tradition. Since then, the 24th of April was adopted as the Day of Mourning"; and

WHEREAS, commemoration ceremonies were intended to be held from April 11 through 18, but due to the Armenian patriarch's illness at the time, the date was delayed by one day; Bishop Mesrop Naroian held a liturgy for the victims of the Armenian genocide April 15 through 25 in Saint Trinity Church of Bera District of Constantinople; and

WHEREAS, the Armenian patriarch of Constantinople, Zaven Eghiaian, gave the sermon at the first observance and on this proclaimed Day of Mourning, all Armenian national colleges and shops in Constantinople were closed.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commemorate the centennial anniversary of the Armenian genocide and does hereby offer prayers for peace in the world.