Wisconsin State Assembly

May 2, 2000

1999 - 2000 LEGISLATURE


May 2, 2000 - Introduced by Representatives Ladwig and Plale. Referred to calendar.

Relating to: designating April 24 of each year as "Wisconsin Day of Remembrance for the Armenian Genocide of 1915 to 1923".

Whereas, a systematic destruction of thousands of Armenian communities, through massacres and death marches in which some 1,500,000 Armenians perished and hundreds of thousands more were uprooted from their homes and ancient homeland, was carried out from 1915 to 1923; and

Whereas, despite the overwhelming evidence borne out by a wealth of documentation, the Turkish government has never recognized nor accepted responsibility for the genocide of the Armenian people from 1915 to 1923; and

Whereas, by denying, and trying to expunge, the record of their genocide, the Turkish government deprives the Armenian people of their own history; and

Whereas, recognition of these instances of the Turkish inhumanity to the Armenian population is crucial to guarding against the recurrence of genocide and provides the Armenian people with a greater understanding of their heritage; and

Whereas, the discrimination against and the hardship of the Armenian people persist today as fundamental freedoms are eroded through various governmental administrative orders; and

Whereas, the differences between the Turkish and Armenian people remain and even today lead to the loss of human lives and numerous violations of human rights; and

Whereas, the government of Turkey denies its Armenian community religious freedom, the right to control its own schools, the right to teach its children its own language, and the right to express its ethnic identity; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, That the assembly of the state of Wisconsin hereby designates April 24 of each year as "Wisconsin Day of Remembrance for the Armenian Genocide of 1915 to 1923"; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this resolution to the Governor, the Armenian Genocide Commemorative Committee and the President of the United States.